Snooki. Author. WHAT?

Okay… Snooki has a published fiction novel on the shelves of Barnes and Noble and Borders? THIS IS BLASPHEMY! When I heard this, I couldn’t believe it.  There are hundreds of authors who have become authors due to their fame, but Snooki, Jersey Shore’s fat, poof girl? I don’t even watch the show, but like Chelsea Handler said, I guess ‘more celebrities are publishing before they learn to read.’

On the wonderful world of Twitter, I came across Jodi Picoult’s tweets.  She too was absolutely aggravated.  Here’s what her tweets said:

@Jodipicoult: “Who rushes out to buy the Snooki book? Why does Snooki think she can write a book? You don’t see me acting on Jersey Shore. There are SO many good writers struggling to get 1st publishing contract. Breaks my heart to see Snooki’s book taking up space in a store. @JamesKiel I’m not a bitch. I’m just really wondering why she deserves a publishing contract, when she’s not a writer. @deisha_tamar @way2GoFatum But she didn’t write the book. So how is that giving her a chance to be a writer? THAT’S what I’m judging. @bennettmadison This is true. Still wondering, though, who would want to read Snooki’s book.”

Thank you Jodi (and thousands of published and unpublished authors) for understanding.  I’ve been working my butt off for years trying to get published and now, some drunken reality star is getting on the shelves before I am?  What talent does she have that I don’t? It’s more than irritating.

Finished reading Elizabeth Scott’s The Unwritten Rule. It was a good, simple YA novel – quick read, relationship devoted and quirky.  However, I believe that I can write as well as she can, or better.  I’m trying to read more and more YA books so I can get a feel of the genre I want to, and will, enter someday.  The next book I’m hoping to read (as well as Eat, Pray, Love) is Stephanie Perkins, Anna and the French Kiss, as well as Kody Keplinger’s, Duff. Anything will help me progress as a YA author.

Speaking of that – I SHOULD BE GETTING MY FEEDBACK BACK ABOUT NOON SOON (possibly within 24 hours)! Thank you Edie Melson for taking the time to look over my query, synopsis and sample chapters. I can’t wait to hear what you have to say.

Leave a Reply

