oh, life. what else do you have in store?

First off – Camp Good Days and Special Times 2011 was absolutely amazing, as always. The children there never cease to amaze me with their energy, their spirit and their survival.  Every child is unique and has gone through a similar disease – learning something from it in the end. That week was the busiest I have ever had, but it taught me a lot about my patience and motivation.  I love these children.  They make me realize what in life is really worth worrying about and what should be pushed aside. Just hearing them laugh can change an entire day and making them smile makes you smile too.  Happiness is contagious at Camp Good Days.  You truly can’t help but be happy. That’s why the place is magical.  Whether campers are terribly ill or survivors, they all can relate and don’t care if you have one leg or no hair.  Love is love and it’s absolutely amazing.

Next – Renee’ and I have become Resident Assistants for the DRIVE Program at Keuka College this upcoming year. The program will be housing three students with Special Needs in one of the dorms and Renee’ and I will work with and help them.  Not only will this be a great resume builder, but there are benefits – waived housing costs, waived book prices, free parking passes and waived technology costs. We are sharing a suite, again, and each have our own room with a bathroom to share (Renee’ let me have the bathroom room.  She’s amazing). Since a lot of our friends graduated, we will be pretty antisocial so this will give us something to do.  It’ll be quite the experience.

This past month has been the month of discouragement when it came to writing. I’m getting frustrated because the agent who seemed interested, has not emailed me back. Also, it’s sad getting rejection emails throughout the day.  Yes, I know it’s all part of the industry, but it’s annoying. I’ve been sending to agents non-stop for a year and even though it’s good that three agents showed major interest, I’m still not satisfied. I’m going to be editing like crazy in the next few weeks.  I will be changing the POV to third person, editing chapters and rewriting the query letter.  Then, I will resend my letter to all of the agents.  Hopefully this will help.  Also, I keep getting story ideas jumping in my head.  That scares me because I don’t want to push Noon aside.  I CAN and WILL do this.

Lately, I’ve been out of it.  Maybe it’s because I’m heading back to college soon or my meds or something.  I’ve just come to realize that I need to focus on myself and my future. Not only that, I need to work on my present self.  I know I’ve always been a person who loves to flirt and loves relationships.  However, even though I adore that stuff – I need to break away from that focus and concentrate on me. I have things I need to work on, just like everybody else, and it’s about time I took complete control.

I need to:

– Work on ‘For the Kids’ and make this year amazing.

– Start working out again

– Editing Noon hardcore

– Talk to Linda weekly (school therapist)

– Focus 100% on school work and studying

 

IT WILL HAPPEN.

Leave a Reply

