moving forward never felt sweeter.

Being on Bridgestreet, through News Channel 9, was one of the most amazing experiences I’ve ever had. I wasn’t too nervous and loved every second (even if I was on bad side and my teeth looked awful)! ImageJust being on public TV and being able to market and talk about my book was a huge move forward towards getting my novel recognized on a greater scale. More people than I imagined watched the five minute clip and I had so many people ask me about it and mention it. It was an experience I’ll never forget and am so thankful I got to have that experience to begin with

I also had the privilege to talk to the health classes at my former high school.  Now, walking back through those halls was TERRIFYING. Just walking past bathrooms I used to hide in and past the school psychologist’s office gave me flashbacks. However, I’m so happy I’ve moved through those awful times and have flipped those negative moments into learning experiences – many noted in Noon. I wish I could talk to classes like the ones I talked to everyday for the rest of my life.  I got such GREAT feedback, especially from the kids.  I talked about some damn intense topics and really got those kids thinking.  I had a few kids talk to me after sessions and a few girls have even emailed me about issues the book brings up, asking for help.  That is what I want to do for the rest of my life – help people who may be struggling with something I can guide them through. Whether it’s through my writing or through a career, that is truly my calling. I’m so lucky I’ve had these chances and I know I have more to come.

I’ll make it happen. 

 

Leave a Reply

