Am I an adult?

When I was done with paperwork at work, I was looking through the latest Cosmo and found an article called: “What Does it Mean to be an Adult?” They mentioned how this generation of ‘artists’ such as Katy Perry and Ke$ha and Taylor Swift are all of the age to be seen as adults, but may wear wacky clothes or act immature or be naiive.  I found it interesting because, really: aren’t I supposed to be seen as an adult?

Okay, so I’m really a young adult, but still – it is odd to think of myself in that light. I have a Bachelor’s Degree. I have a job. I published a book. I have an apartment. I’m paying my own bills. I have a dog (I don’t know if this adds to the point). So, in truth, I’m living the adult life. In my mind, however, I still feel like I’m too young to be seen this way.  Maybe it is because I have so much life I still haven’t lived. I’ve experienced so much, but still so little.

I still feel like yesterday I recieved the Outstanding Singer Award in eighth grade or danced on stage for the Upstate Ballet Company. It still feels like my parents divorce happened yesterday and that my brother died minutes ago. I still feel like I’m stuck in this bubble of my past and maybe that is why I find it odd to be seen as an adult.  Yet, at the same time, these experiences are what have sculpted me into being the person I am.

After reading that article, it talked about how our generation is stuck in a Kidult state of mind. I love that saying because, well, it is true.  This generation is open and wacky and silly. This generation speaks out about uncomfortable topics such as sex and Autism and Bipolar Disorder.  We don’t hide our flaws, but instead let the world see them for what they are.

So, maybe I’m in the young adult stage or adult stage, but weirdly enough – I like the idea of being a Kidult. I’m unique and open and yes, odd. I may act very silly and immature at times, just because, it is how many of us in this generation have grown up to be. So, maybe I do have a degree and a job and a place of my own, but I still see me as a Kidult. Why?  Because yes, I have grown up, but I still have fun.

Leave a Reply

